Faculty and staff

Yasmine Abdin

Assistant Professor

Composites

Office: FF 011

Research Interests

Polymer Matrix Composite Materials, Composites Design and Manufacturing, Optimization, In-Service Performance behaviour, Damage, Durability, Structural Reliability, Multi-Scale Modelling, Characterization Methods, Finite Element Analysis, Machine Learning, and Industry 4.0.

Edouard Asselin

Professor

Corrosion, Hydrometallurgy

Office: FF 207

Research Interests

Hydrometallurgy, electrochemistry, corrosion

Ben Britton

Associate Professor

Microstructure

Phone:
Office:

Research Interests

Materials characterisation & microstructure, metallurgy, electron diffraction & microscopy, deformation, microstructure/property models, manufacturing

Amanda Clifford

Assistant Professor

Biomaterials

Phone:
Office:

Research Interests

Processing of biomaterials, electrochemistry, colloid and interface science, surface modification, biointerfaces, nanomaterials for precision medicine, implantable materials, portable diagnostics, wearable healthcare monitoring.

Steve Cockcroft

Professor

Advanced Metals Processing

Office: FF 413

Research Interests

Physical phenomena in non-ferrous casting: hot tearing, continuous casting, EB melting and refining, vaccuum casting, finite element-based heat flow and stress codes, optimization of industrial casting processes, mathematical modeling

David Dixon

Professor

Hydrometallurgy

Office: FF 409

Research Interests

Hydrometallurgy process analysis and design, mathematical modelling, heap leaching, fluid flow and mass transfer, leaching kinetics, fixed bed processing

David Dreisinger

Professor

Hydrometallurgy

Office: FF 415

Research Interests

Hydrometallurgy, solvent extraction, electrochemical kinetics, waste treatment, biohydro-metallurgy, ion exchange, process modelling

Casey Keulen

Assistant Professor of Teaching

Office: FF 106A

Research Interests

Polymer matrix composite materials

Educational Leadership Interests: Multi-campus course instruction, continuing professional development

Frank Ko

Professor

Biomaterials

Office: FF 111

Research Interests

Nanofibre technology, biomaterials, surgical implants, textile structural composites

Sergey Kravchenko

Assistant Professor

Composites

Phone:
Office:

Research Interests

Polymers and polymer composites; Multi-functional composites; High-throughput manufacturing process modelling of composites; Multi-scale, multi-physics, probabilistic computational modelling of composites; Manufacturing-informed performance simulation of composites; Machine learning methods in composites manufacturing and performance analysis; Composite structures for renewable energy & unmanned vehicles; Additive manufacturing.

Gabrielle Lam

Assistant Professor of Teaching

Office: FF 203B

Research Interests

Wenying Liu

Associate Professor

Hydrometallurgy

Office: FF 209

Research Interests

Use of sea water in heap leaching, release of selenium and associated toxic elements from mine waste materials, heap leach modelling

Daan Maijer

Professor and Department Head

Advanced Metals Processing

Office: FF 313

Research Interests

Heat transfer, fluid flow, stress

Matthias Militzer

Professor

Microstructure

Office: FF 211

Research Interests

Multi-scale modelling of microstructure evolution, physical metallurgy of advanced high strength steels, Cu interconnects

Jon Nakane

Assistant Professor of Teaching

Office: FF 203A

Research Interests

Warren Poole

Professor

Microstructure

Office: FF 215

Research Interests

Advanced aluminum alloys, high strengths, high formable steels. metal matrix composites, microstructure/property models

Anoush Poursartip

Professor

Composites

Office: FF 113

Research Interests

Polymer matrix composite materials, damage growth in service, processing science for efficient manufacturing

Chad Sinclair

Professor

Microstructure

Office: FF 411

Research Interests

Prediction of microstructure and properties of engineering alloys through the use of experiments and modelling, predicting the correlation between the structure of alloys, at the microstructural and atomic scale, and their mechanical behaviour

Rizhi Wang

Professor

Biomaterials

Office:

Research Interests

Biomaterials, biomechanics, biomimetics

Guangrui Xia

Associate Professor

Semiconductors

Office: FF 213

Research Interests

Group IV semiconductors in microelectronics, Ge-on-Si lasers, 2D semiconductors, 3D integration of ICs, Raman spectroscopy
Name Position Email Phone
Tom Troczynski Emeritus Professor tom.troczynski@ubc.ca
Berend Wassink Emeritus Associate Professor of Teaching Berend.Wassink@ubc.ca
Peter Barr Emeritus Professor peter.barr@ubc.ca 604–822–3666
Lawrence Brown Emeritus Professor lcbrown@mail.ubc.ca
Bob Butters Emeritus Professor
Chak Chaklader Emeritus Professor acdc@mail.ubc.ca
Göran Fernlund Emeritus Professor goran.fernlund@ubc.ca
Bruce Hawbolt Emeritus Professor
John Lund Emeritus Professor
Ray Meadowcroft Emeritus Professor
Alec Mitchell Emeritus Professor alecm@mail.ubc.ca
Des Tromans Emeritus Professor
Indira Samarasekera Professor Emerita
Thomas Alden Professor Emeritus
Name Position Email Phone
Ainul Akhtar Adjunct Professor ainul.akhtar@ubc.ca 604–822–8021
Alex Burns Adjunct Professor
Elvis Cepus Adjunct Professor 604–822–0794
Walter Cicha Adjunct Professor 604–822–3041
David Embury Adjunct Professor emburyd@mcmaster.ca
Fateh Fazeli Adjunct Professor ffazeli@nrcan.gc.ca
Ryan Huizing Adjunct Professor
Hamed Karimi-Sharif Adjunct Professor hamed.karimi@ubc.ca
Bethan McKevitt Adjunct Professor
Nick Parson Adjunct Professor nick.parson@riotinto.com
Avaral Rao Adjunct Professor avaral.rao@powertechlabs.com
Colin Scott Adjunct Professor colin.scott@nrcan.gc.ca
Paul West-Sells Adjunct Professor pwest-sells@westerncopperandgold.com
Zhaolin Tang Adjunct Professor Zhaolin.tang@ubc.ca
Quanzu Yang Adjunct Professor quanzu@mail.ubc.ca
Mahyar Asadi Adjunct Professor m.asadi@mtrl.ubc.ca
Michael Greenwood Adjunct Professor seveiht@mail.ubc.ca
Walter Cicha Adjunct Professor wcicha@mail.ubc.ca
Da Yung Wang Adjunct Professor dayung.wang@ubc.ca
Name Position Email Phone
Becky Abbott On Leave Program Assistant Student Services becky.abbott@ubc.ca 604–827–6422
Norma Donald Financial Processing Specialist mtrl-finance@mtrl.ubc.ca 604–822–9787
Lydia Lyu Temporary Senior Program Assistant Student Services lydialyu@mail.ubc.ca
Michelle Tierney Manager, Business Operations mtierney@apsc.ubc.ca 604–822–4878
Adrienne Weeks Financial Processing Specialist adrienne.weeks@ubc.ca 604–827–6643
Vacant Administrative Support Assistant to Head 604–822–2676
Sharen Mangat Temporary Program Assistant Student Services sharen.mangat@ubc.ca
Name Position Email Phone
Marie Clopin On Leave Department Lab Technician marie.clopin@ubc.ca 604–827–4424
Heli Eunike SEM Technician heli.eunike@ubc.ca 604–822–5648
Wonsang Kim Electronics Technician wonsang.kim@ubc.ca 604–822–6181
Carl Ng On Leave Machinist carlng@mail.ubc.ca 604–822–2605
Bernhard Nimmervoll Machinist bernhard.nimmervoll@ubc.ca 604–822–2605  
Soung-Jae Bong Undergraduate Lab Technician soungjae@mail.ubc.ca  
David Torok Head Technician (Machinist) david.torok@ubc.ca 604–822–2605
Wes Wong Stores Keeper mtrl.stores@ubc.ca 604–822–2716
Liam MacLellan Machinist liam.maclellan@ubc.ca work phone: 604–822–2605
Name Position Email Phone
Addie Bahi Research Engineer addie.bahi@ubc.ca 604–827–5070
Taesik Chae Scientific Engineer 604–822–4745
Kashyap Debang Research Engineer kashyapd@mail.ubc.ca
Farzaneh Farhang-Mehr Director, Additive Manufacturing farzaneh.fmehr@ubc.ca 604–827–2243
Jianming Lu Research Engineer jianming@mail.ubc.ca 604–822–2662
Christophe Mobuchon Research Associate christophe@composites.ubc.ca 604–822–3492
Jun Ou Research Associate (EIT) jun.ou@ubc.ca 604–827–2155
Suzana Topic Manager CRN suzana@composites.ubc.ca 604–822–6178
Yuqin Wan Research Associate HON 604–827–5070
Lu Yao Research Associate yaolu475@mail.ubc.ca 604–827–5070
Name Position Email Phone
Lin Li Tin Post-Doctoral Fellow
Harishkumar Narayana Post-Doctoral Fellow
Amir Servati Post-Doctoral Fellow amir.servati@ubc.ca
Zhijun Zhang Post-Doctoral Fellow zzj67006@gmail.com
Name Position Email Phone
Zihe Ren Visiting Scientist rzh722@gmail.com 604–822–9679